Cricket robs our pocket and some times our life

chandan_blog
What is an Indian cricket fan’s perfect day? A wholesome entertainment by its loved cricketers and some nail-biting stuffs inside a packed stadium. And it was a perfect day for the fan inside me when I learnt that my friends have procured tickets for CSK vs DD match.
I was looking forward to see few helicopter shots by our beloved team India captain MSD, few eye catching and mind boggling shots by Viru and to see latest sensation Sir Jadeja in action.
So, with all these expectations I left my home at 5:30. Yes… To get a good seat in stadium you need to be at least 2 hours before time. Unfortunately, I miscalculated Police management, or should I say mismanagement, the scene outside Ferozshah Kotla was a complete chaos.
Police tried to be as polite to spectators as they could, but more often than not the real Delhi Police popped out of their skins. They tried to choke people by purposefully narrowing down the roads from both side of stadium. But these atrocities are not a talking point as common people face this everyday and this is just a meager price to see their beloved cricketers in action. We are inured to such things.
I felt lucky to enter the stadium without breaking any bones and saving my 6-month old broken shoulder. My miscalculation made me late by half an hour to get a good seat or should I say even a seat anywhere. I reached stadium at 6:30 pm. But these things didn’t lessen my excitement. I looked around the ground to take a glimpse of my favourite cricketers, here comes Dhoni, there is Viru chatting and smiling.
People started chanting ‘Dhoni… Dhoni, Viru… Viru’ . Everything looked good and exciting. Suddenly, I heard a noise as some log fell behind me. When I looked back, a young man was lying on the floor unconscious or perhaps dead.
He fell from a small grill around stairs of ground floor, it might sound an accident to you but for me it was a murder due to mismanagement. BCCI, on an average, earns at least Rs 50 crores from ticket sales per match and in return they give a gross mismanagement, a lot many accidents and few deaths. I have never heard of a company who earns this much gives such a brutal experience to its customers.
My friends and me could not enjoy a ball after that accident. That young man lying on the floor, perhaps dead, had engrossed my mind. I could not Enjoy Dhoni’s power pact performance or Hussey’s class. We few were left feeling alone and disturbed in that ground.
Others unaware of the accident enjoyed their perfect day. If that was not enough some drunken people sat on that very risky grill, when people tried to stop them they hurled abuses at them.
When people tried to seek attention of police to take those few drunken man to task, Indian police remained true to its spirit, they quietly left the place without uttering a single word.
Our evening has turned gloomy. We left the match in middle overs of the second innings because Viru was out or perhaps the death of young man knocked us out.
Tomorrow I am going with new excitement to watch our cricketing God in MI vs DD match. I expect same chaos and same mismanagement but I pray to god no deaths or accidents… Please god, we don’t deserve this. BCCI will certainly not pay attention, I wish God listens to us. My experience of Kumbh Mela was much better although that was not money making venture.

One thought on “Cricket robs our pocket and some times our life”

Leave a Reply

